Category Databases

A to Z Journal List now called Full Text Article Finder

Starting last week, you may have noticed our A to Z Journal List looked a lot different! Now called Full Text Article Finder, this resource is an enhanced version of our previous journal list. So what are some of the changes? For starters, on the landing page is an easy to browse collection of subjects. […]

Current Database Trial- IbisWorld

As Eastern moves forward with our new College of Business and Leadership, the library is exploring additional business resources for our community. Currently, we’re trialing the IbisWorld database. This tool provides users with business intelligence on 1,300 U.S. industries, covering 4,000 individual product segments. Each report provides detailed performance data and analysis on the market, […]

New library database: R2 Digital Library

This past month Warner Library added a new database to our collection. R2 Digital Library provides health science ebooks with collections that focus on medical, nursing and allied health. Publishers represented in this resource include Springer, Wiley-Blackwell, Elsevier Health Sciences, Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics, and many more.  We subscribe to over 300 ebooks through […]

Ebrary Database’s new Online Reader display

Ebrary users notice something very different about its interface- it’s brand new! For those Eastern students who aren’t using Ebrary, now is the time to start! Ebrary is the library’s largest ebook database. Through it, we provide access to over 100,000 fulltext ebooks. Anywhere you have internet access, you can use Ebrary and read its […]

Library now offers access to NYT and its archive

New this semester to our Eastern community is access to the New York Times. Through the newspaper’s “pass” feature, our students, staff and faculty can gain access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes app from any device that connects to the internet, whether you’re on- or off-campus. To get started you’ll first need to create an account […]

Palmer’s AK deBlois Library to offer mini-workshops this semester

Over the next eleven weeks, Dr. Marvin Smith will offer library instruction to incoming students at Palmer Theological Seminary.  These 15 minute “Mini-Orientation Workshops” are repeated seven times each week in the Austen K. deBlois Library computer lab, providing students with hands-on computer experiences.  Topics include managing the library account, searching with EBSCOHost, managing bibliographies […]

Bits & Bytes from around the library

I thought I would use this week’s post to share various bits of information, news, and upcoming events pertaining to the library. Did you know…. …that as of November, Warner Library now has access to MORE electronic books (180,000) than print books (144,281)?! Take advantage of our ebook databases- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 […]

NEW! Library adds two streaming video databases

For the past two years, we’ve been trying out different streaming video databases. In the past, we’ve provided access to two Films on Demand collections- Business & Economics Collection, and Health & Medicine Collection. We currently subscribe to NBC Learn, which contains a ton of 3-5 minute video clips from NBC news programming. Based on […]

JSTOR adds free, online access to scholarly content

Welcome to the start of Fall Semester! We’re kicking things off with a post about JSTOR’s beta program, Register & Read. This experimental program allows JSTOR users to access and read online articles from over 1,200 journals and over 700 publishers. In other words- get EVEN MORE content from JSTOR than what the library subscribes […]

Why can’t I access full-text articles from ERIC?

Well…… that is because ERIC, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, discovered “personally identifiable information” in some of the articles. As a result, they pulled down all the full-text items in order to evaluate each document and remove any “personally identifiable information” if present. Here is the […]