Tag Archives: Databases

The Force Awakens! Star War Returns.

Leisurely pursuits “behind the stacks”. by Mark D. Puterbaugh Information Services Librarian I’m excited. The previews have been enticing. I fell in love with the adventures of the Skywalkers during my years at seminary, around 1977. Indeed, science fiction and fantasy are mainstays of my leisure time pursuits. Early on I was exposed to the […]

Current Database Trial- IbisWorld

As Eastern moves forward with our new College of Business and Leadership, the library is exploring additional business resources for our community. Currently, we’re trialing the IbisWorld database. This tool provides users with business intelligence on 1,300 U.S. industries, covering 4,000 individual product segments. Each report provides detailed performance data and analysis on the market, […]

NEW! Library adds two streaming video databases

For the past two years, we’ve been trying out different streaming video databases. In the past, we’ve provided access to two Films on Demand collections- Business & Economics Collection, and Health & Medicine Collection. We currently subscribe to NBC Learn, which contains a ton of 3-5 minute video clips from NBC news programming. Based on […]

JSTOR adds free, online access to scholarly content

Welcome to the start of Fall Semester! We’re kicking things off with a post about JSTOR’s beta program, Register & Read. This experimental program allows JSTOR users to access and read online articles from over 1,200 journals and over 700 publishers. In other words- get EVEN MORE content from JSTOR than what the library subscribes […]

Database Profile: AP Images

One goal of our blog is to offer Eastern students, faculty & staff a closer look at the many resources we offer. This week’s post focuses on AP Images, the library’s subscription image database. It is a great resource for high-quality, downloadable images that can easily be added to presentations, reports, projects, etc. AP Images […]